Uttar Pradesh University of Medical Sciences

Saifai Etawah UP-206130

General Surgery Department


The Department of General Surgery was established at the time of inception of this University, in 2006, with Prof. Dr. P K Varma as its first Head of Department. Presently the department is headed by Prof (Dr) S.P.Singh. Since inception the department has been progressing in medical education, research and providing state of the art healthcare. The faculty, present and past of this department have won laurels and accolades for the department, holding some of the highest offices in the university including the, First Pro Vice Chancellor (Prof (Dr) Mohan Singh), Dean (Prof PK Varma & Maj. Gen. Pruthviraj Rao) and Medical Superintendent. The department of Surgery laid the foundation in establishing the other super-specialty departments including Urology, Neurosurgery, CVTS, Pediatric Surgery and Surgical Oncology of the university hospital.

Previous Heads of the Department:
  • Prof.(Dr.) P K Varma
  • Major General Prof.(Dr.) Pruthviraj Rao
  • Prof.(Dr.) Mohan Singh


The Department of Surgery has Four major OT (including One major OT in emergency), Two minor OT, dedicated hospital floor for Surgical wards, One Endoscopic unit, Lithotripsy Unit, Uroflowmetry study Lab, Departmental Office, Seminar Room, Two Teaching rooms, Departmental Library, Post-operative ward, 6 bedded High Dependency Unit and a Skill lab dedicated to impart skill training to undergraduates, Interns and post-graduates. The department is equipped with recent operating gadgets including Full HD Laparoscopy set, Ultrasonic generator, Vessel sealer, modern Electrosurgical Units, Upper GI & Lower GI endoscopy unit, Flexible Choledochoscope, Operating Microscope & C-Arm.

There are currently 09 faculty members in the Department 3 Professors, 2 Professor (Junior Grade), 03 Associate Professors, 1 Assistant Professor.

Sl.No. Name Designation Date of Joining Resume
1 Dr. Shailendra Pal Singh Professor & Head 2006 View
2 Dr. Anil Kumar Erry Professor 2011 View
3 Dr. Vipin Kumar Gupta Professor 2006 View
4 Dr. Somendra Pal Singh Professor ( Jr Gr.) 2012 View
5 Dr. Poonam Gupta Professor ( Jr Gr.) 2013 View
6 Dr. Rajesh Kumar Associate Professor 2013 View
7 Dr. Shesh Kumar Associate Professor 2016 View
8 Dr. Anil Kumar Associate Professor 2016 View
9 Dr. Ram Lakhan Singh Verma Assistant Professor 2017 View

Unit wise Distribution of Faculty –

Unit Name of Faculty Designation Special Surgical Interest/Practices
I Dr. S P Singh Professor & Head of Department General Surgery, Minimal Invasive Surgery, GI Oncosurgery, Urology Endocrine and Breast Surgery
Dr. Vipin Gupta Professor
Dr. Ram Lakhan Verma Assistant Professor
II Dr. Anil Kumar Erry Professor & Unit Head II General Surgery, Minimal Invasive Surgery, Trauma surgery, Endocrine and Breast Surgery.
Dr. Rajesh Kumar Associate Professor
Dr. Anil Kumar Associate Professor
III Dr. Somendra Pal Singh Professor (Jr Gr.) & Head, Unit III General Surgery, Minimal Invasive Surgery, Endocrine, Breast Surgery and Hypospadias surgery.
Dr. Poonam Gupta Professor (Jr Gr.)
Dr. Shesh Kumar Associate Professor

Senior Residents –

Sl.No. Name Date of Joining
1 Dr. Vipin Verma July 2021
2 Dr. Atikur Rahman August 2021
3 Dr. Shelza Sachdeva November 2021
4 Dr. Shivali Singh August 2022
5 Dr. Jitendra Kumar August 2022
6 Dr. Sangeeta Yadav August 2022
7 Dr. Sarthak Uttam August 2022
8 Dr. Mohini Gaur August 2022

Junior Residents (PG JR) –

Recognized seat 07 in each year.