Uttar Pradesh University of Medical Sciences

Saifai Etawah UP-206130

Community Medicine Department


  • The Department of Community Medicine came into existence in August 2006, in the Uttar Pradesh University of Medical Sciences (erstwhile Uttar Pradesh Rural Institute of Medical Sciences and Research), Saifai, with the admission of first MBBS batch of 100 students. It occupies third floor of the Academic block of the university.
  • At present, 200 students for MBBS course and 11 Post Graduate students in MD Community Medicine (PG started in 2011) are admitted annually.
  • The department is actively involved in innovative strategies to make the students understand various components of Community medicine and its importance.
  • While seminars, symposia, journal clubs, lectures and group discussions are a regular feature of the department, the department involves actively in innovative strategies such as projects for all undergraduate students encouraging them to become Researchers in the future.
  • Regular OPDs are running under this department at two places i.e. Urban Health and Training Centre (UHTC) in coordination with District Hospital, Etawah and Rural Health and Training Centre at Community Health Centre, Saifai of district Etawah.
  • The mission of the Department of Community Medicine, is to contribute to produce graduates, post graduate and other health related human resources with highest competencies and ethical standards of practice and to develop networking with other organizations. It will also provide leadership in community care, research in medical and allied fields, health services and in policy formulation.


  • Demonstration room      Two   Each with seating capacity for 75 students
  • Departmental Library     One   Total 300 books
  • Museum                         One   Specimens, Charts, Models, equipments etc.
  • Laboratory                     One   Equipped for water chemistry, microscopy etc.
  • Research lab for PGs    One   well equipped for research

Services Bring Offered:

The Department has been implementing community-based programs to enhance health care services to the rural communities. Three Community Health Centres (CHCs), namely, CHC Saifai, CHC Sarsai Nawar and CHC Basrehar are attached with the university for teaching and training of post graduates and undergraduates. CHC Saifai has been developed as the Rural Health and training Center (RHTC) with residential facilities for the interns posted at RHTC as a part of their rural posting for orientation to health care delivery system in rural setting of India.

Rural Training Health Centre (RHTC):

This health institution RTHC- Saifai initially came into being as Sub Centre and later on, over the period, was upgraded to Primary Health Center and now Community Health Center in village and Tehsil Saifai, District Etawah, Uttar Pradesh. After the establishment of UP RIMS & R, Saifai in the year 2005-2006, this centre was attached with the University as Rural Training and Health Center under the Department of Community Medicine on 25th April, 2008 as per MCI requirement.

With the academic control of this centre with UPUMS, the Rural Training Health Centre, Saifai, Etawah is a training centre for teaching, training & research program of the undergraduate (MBBS Students) and Post graduate Students. The centre takes care of total responsibility of health care needs of community. The RHTC functions in close cooperation and coordination with the district and state health authorities in implementing various national health programs and state public health priorities. The brief about this center is as follows:

  • Status : Community Health Center (CHC)
  • Population covered : 1825
  • Community Development Block : Saifai
  • Distance from the Department : 1.5 kilometers

University Staff at RHTC:

Sl.No. Post Name
1 Faculty in charge Dr. Naresh Pal Singh
2 Medical Social Worker Mr. Ankur Rawat

Types of health services provided at RTHC:

Allopathic system of Medicine:

CMO Staff - 18 members (Permanent)

Sl.No. Name Post
1 Dr. Sunil Yadav Medical Superintendent (MS)
2 Dr. Soni Katheria Medical Officer
3 Dr. Mohd. Asif Chaudhary Medical Officer
4 Dr. Preeti Singh Medical Officer (Dental)
5 Mr. Surendra Yadav Senior Optometrist
6 Mrs. Kalpana Yadav Senior Optometrist
7 Mr. Khurshid Akhtar Chief Pharmacist
8 Mr. Pankaj Jaiswal Pharmacist
9 Mr. Gajendra Singh Pharmacist
10 Mr. Pramod Kumar X-Ray Technician
11 Mrs. Sandhaya Lab Technician
12 Mrs. Preeti Verma Senior Clerk
13 Mrs. Aakriti Dark Room Assistant
14 Mr. Virendra Babu Ward Boy
15 Ms. Pratiksha Ward Ayah
16 Mr. Brijesh Kumar Sweeper
17 Mr. Subhash Chand Sweeper cum Chaukidaar
18 Mr. Rakesh Driver

CMO Staff Allopath - 24 members (Contractual)

Sl.No. Name Post
1 Dr. Rahul Pratap Singh Medical Officer (RBSK-Contractual)
2 Dr. Rajeev Kumar Medical Officer (RBSK)Contractual
3 Dr. Shoham Gupta Medical Officer (RBSK)Contractual
4 Dr. Hemlata Yadav Medical Officer (RBSK) Contractual
5 Dr. Prateek Girotra Medical Officer (NPCDCS) Contractual
6 Mr. Shashi Kant Dixit LT (ICTC-Contractual)
7 Mr. Arvind Kumar Pharmacist (Ayush)Contractual
8 Mr. Upendra Kumar Upadhyay BPM (Contractual)
9 Mr. Sanjay Kumar BAM
10 Mrs. Seema Tiwari ICTC Counselor (Contractual)
11 Mr. Rajnish Yadav Optometrist (RBSK -Contractual)
12 Mr. Surjeet Optometrist (RBSK -Contractual)
13 Mr. Shekhar Yadav Staff Nurse(M) (RBSK -Contractual)
14 Mr. Vinay Yadav Staff Nurse(M) (RBSK -Contractual)
15 Mr. Nitin Chauhan Staff Nurse(M) (NPCDCS -Contractual)
16 Mr. Vivek Verma Lab Technician (NPCDCS -Contractual)
17 Mrs. Rajni Counselor (NPCDCS -Contractual)
18 Mr. Ajay Kumar Madhukar Data Entry Operator (NPCDCS)
19 Rinki Pal Lab Technician (NTEP)
20 Mr. Kuwar Singh STS (NTEP) Contractual
21 Mr. Raghvendra Pratap STLS (NTEP) Contractual
22 Mr. Shushrut Yadav Data Entry Operator (IDSP)
23 Mr. Shashank Jain Ward Boy (Contractual)
24 Mr. Vinay Kumar Ward Boy (Contractual)

Ayurvedic system of Medicine - Staff of 6 members

Sl.No. Name Post
1 Dr. Dharmendra Kumar Medical Officer
2 Dr. Neelam Pathak Medical Officer
3 Mr. Mujeeb Ali Ward Boy
4 Mr. Gajendra Singh Ward Boy
5 Mr. Nawaab Singh Sweeper
6 Mr. Ajay Yadav Chaukidaar

Homeopathic system of Medicine - Staff of 4 members

Sl.No. Name Post
1 Dr. Chandra Shekhar Medical Officer (Attached to CHC, Saifai)
2 Mr. Sarnam Singh Pharmacist
3 Mr. Amit Ward Boy (Attached to CHC, Saifai)
4 Mr. Mahesh Kumar S/C (Attached to CHC, Saifai)