Uttar Pradesh University of Medical Sciences

Saifai Etawah UP-206130

Anaesthesiology Department


The department of anaesthesiology came into existence since the inception of the institute in 2006. Department of anaesthesia is providing quality 24X7 anaesthesia care to all surgical departments: General surgery, orthopaedic, gynaecology and obstetrics, ophthalmology, ENT and super-specialities like neurosurgery, cardiac and thoracic surgery, plastic surgery, urology surgery, Paediatric surgery, oncology surgery, gastro surgery, trauma and emergency surgery. 19 operation tables are run in a day.

Apart from this, department is providing excellent critical care to post-surgical patients in eight bedded fully equipped surgical ICU.

Department is providing hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) to all needy patients from any medical or surgical speciality. Faculty and Postgraduate students from our department and other surgical departments have done their research and thesis projects on patients who received HBOT.

Currently Department has 10 senior faculty members and one chief medical officer who are competent, dedicated, very enthusiastic and provide excellent anaesthesia care to patients and are Academician par excellence. We undertake teaching and training programmes for our Postgraduate students, interns and undergraduate students with great zeal and enthusiasm.

In year 2009. the department got permission for 2 DNB PG seats and in year 2013 ,our department was permitted 2 MD anaesthesia seats. After that, 4 seats were added in 2014 and in the year 2015, MD anaesthesia seats were increased to a total of 9. All these seats are National Medical Council recognized.

During Covid-19 Pandemic all faculty members, resident doctors and Anaesthesia technicians worked continuously in Covid hospital providing specialty care to patients thereby saving numerous lives.

Department has 33 trained anaesthesia technicians who worked tirelessly day and night to help our Faculty and Residents in providing anaesthesia, critical care and trauma management. Enormous effort is made to maintain continuous oxygen supply to the hospital which made profound impact during Corona pandemic.


Department has conducted Basic life support training to all the nursing staff of UPUMS Saifai and trained outside organizations like Fire department, Schools, Police department and Guards.

We conducted exhaustive 30 hours ventilator training to all PG and Non-PG junior residents, Senior residents, Faculty and Medical officers of UPUMS Saifai in which skills in Basic life support, Critical care, ABG interpretation and Mechanical ventilation was taught during covid-19 pandemic. In Covid-19 pandemic, Department also conducted ventilator training for other U.P government doctors posted in peripheral areas, district hospital Etawah and Auraiya.

We trained Postgraduate students of SGPGI, Lucknow in providing anaesthesia care in orthopaedics, gynaecology and obstetrics.

CME, Workshop & Guest Lectures:

Department conducted two day ISA sponsored CME & UP chapter conference in 05-06 December 2010 and conducted ISA sponsored CME & Workshop on ventilator and Human patient simulator from 26-28th Feb 2016. We have organized 3 guest lectures.


  • Best Public awareness award 2017 - awarded by Indian Society of Anaesthesiology
  • Best city branch award 2017 - awarded by Indian Society of Anaesthesiology


Faculty of our department is managing O2 generation plant, liquid medical oxygen (LMO) supply and maintenance of O2 gas pipeline system in the hospital since 2006.

We are an important resource faculty of RRTC Regional resource training centre UPUMS, a programme run by state government under National health mission for training doctors in PHC, CHC & District hospitals in nearby districts to reduce maternal and neonatal mortality.

Faculty in Department:

Sl.No. Name Designation Resume
1 Dr. Usha Shukla Professor & Head of Department View
2 Dr. Dheer Singh Professor Jr. grade View
3 Dr. Manoj Kumar Professor Jr. grade View
4 Dr. Urvashi Yadav Professor Jr. grade View
5 Dr. Prashant Kumar Mishra Associate professor View
6 Dr. Rakesh Bahadur Singh Associate professor View
7 Dr. Atit kumar Associate professor View
8 Dr. Amit Kumar Singh Assistant professor View
9 Dr. Jay Brijesh Singh Yadav Assistant professor View
10 Dr. Deepika Doneria Assistant professor View
11 Dr. Pankaj Singh Chief Medical officer View